Reibekuchen

Item: Reibekuchen
Date: December 10, 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany

I was at a Christmas market in Cologne two years ago (one out of five in the city, actually) and as soon as I saw someone eating Reibekuchen, I decided that I HAD to get it. Greasy? Yes, let’s go for it. These potato fritters may seem like your typical hashbrowns, but boy, they were so much more crispy and flavourful. When the saltiness of the fritters complemented the sweetness of the apple sauce, the final taste was a perfect match. I haven’t even gotten to the size of these giants yet. Each was the size of my hand, and for 4 Euros you get three, plus the apple sauce. Did anybody say “unhealthy”? So indulgent, so good.

2 thoughts on “Reibekuchen

  1. Mmmm potato pancakes. My wife and I have visited Germany during Christmas for the past 6 years and have attended numerous Christmas Markets throughout Germany including those in Dusseldorf, Essen, Berlin and Aachen, just to name a few. I must say that the ones in Cologne are the best.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.