Stir-fried banana flower

Item: Stir-fried banana flower, 素炒芭蕉花
Date: December 23, 2016
Location: 傣味320, Kunming, China

Not sure how to translate “bajiao” but I think in any case it’s some sort of banana, and this dish was made from stir-frying bajiao flowers. I have quite honestly never heard of this before so it was a new experience for me. This dish was part of a Dai-style dinner (Dai is a minority ethnic group in China) in Kunming in the province of Yunnan in China and perhaps my favourite of the night. If I didn’t know what it was, I would have thought that there was shredded chicken in the dish but alas, the bajiao flower was so crunchy, colourful, and unique, like nothing I had ever tasted before!

2 thoughts on “Stir-fried banana flower

    • Hard to describe the taste but it was quite mild, and it did have a very subtle flower-ness to it (or what I imagined flowers would taste like…) Certainly tasted nothing like bananas though 😛

Leave a Reply

