Stir-fried green beans with special marinated pork

Item: Stir-fried green beans with special marinated pork, 特製腌豬肉炒豆角
Date: April 7, 2015
Location: Guangzhou, China

This might look like a very ordinary plate of green beans with pork but the pork itself is very significant. It was marinated in a very specific way (I don’t know how, don’t ask me) in my mom’s home village, on the mountains in northwestern China. Then the pork was brought to Guangzhou in the south, where my relatives now reside and where I was born. I remember the distinct taste of the pork that I had during my childhood and it was one that I would never forget. How surprised I was to immediately recognize that taste, from more than 20 years ago! Nothing beats the taste of home and nostalgia!

Leave a Reply

