Grilled minke whale

Item: Grilled minke whale
Date: January 28, 2014
Location: Sægreifinn, Reykjavik, Iceland

Stepping in the Sea Baron restaurant, I first ordered some scallop but noticed that the guy sitting beside me ordered grilled minke whale. Wondering how I missed seeing it, I decided to give it a try too. After all, it was an Icelandic specialty. The meat tasted…beef? Hard and chewy, kind of like the deer meat that I had. But it did smell very potent, and so did the sauce, which was a kind of sweet mustard. Good to try it, but I’ll stick with good ol’ fish and beef next time!

Leave a Reply

