Biang biang noodles

Item: Biang biang noodles
Date: December 12, 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

The 62-stroke Chinese character for “biang” is one that does not exist in contemporary usage, and you can’t even input it on the computer. There are many stories as to how the biang biang noodles got this name, but they are essentially noodles with the unique characteristic of being very thick and very long like a belt. You can add whatever you like to it, and I chose to mix the noodles with some lettuce, enoki mushrooms, and spicy bamboo shoots and top it all off with sesame oil and chili oil. Mmmmmmmmmm! I’m not about to try writing “biang”, even as a Chinese, but I’d definitely have another bowl of the noodles!

3 thoughts on “Biang biang noodles

  1. I’ve wanted to try biang biang noodles for a long time, yet I keep missing my opportunities. In other news I do know how to write the character. So I guess we’re even. 🙂

    • Good job 😀 I wrote the character for the first time today (looking at it) and a few hours later tried to reproduce it from memory – missed several parts 😦 You’ve gotta try the noodles though. I made these from a pack that my friend brought me but I’d like to try the ones in restaurants some day 😛

Leave a Reply

